I guess the first post should be about why I’m doing this.

(‘This’ being both boxing and blogging about it.)

I’ve been immersing* myself in boxing for about a year now without getting my hands dirty.

*By ‘immerse’ I mean reading about and occasionally shadow boxing in the mirror.

January is always a good time for new fads so it seemed like the perfect time to start boxing.

I’ve been looking for a way to get fit and I’ve never been one who has the will power to hit the gym on their own.

I’m also interested in and a big advocate of the 10,000 hour rule. I really liked Matthew Syed’s Bounce, Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers and The Dan Plan.

I’m not giving up my life to learn to box, but I do want to see if I can learn a completely new skill through positive practice and routine.

I figured blogging about my experience will keep me committed when the going gets tough, as well as documenting how I (hopefully) improve at the sport.

I’m going to keep taking plenty of photos and videos so as the months go by, I’ll be able to see where I’ve improved and where I still need to improve.

So, here it goes then…

