I finally boxed with appropriate gloves and wrapped hands this week, which made a huge difference (especially the wraps).

(As a rule, when people tell you how important wrapped hands are, listen to them!)

For the first time since I started, my knuckles and wrists came out relatively unscathed from my two sessions this week.

I’ll write up a review of the gloves once I’ve properly worn them in next week – they’re still a bit stiff!

The Hook

I’ve been putting a lot of thought and practice into the technique of both my left and right hook this week.

When I first started it felt completely unnatural but, with a bit of practice, it’s becoming one of my favourite punches to throw and especially to finish combinations with.

I got my lesson here from probably the best in the business, Freddie Roach:

 

I’m still struggling to get the hang of the foot pivot at the end but, imagining you’re squashing a cigarette, at Roach says, is a good starting point.

It definitely helps here to get up close to the pads and drive through with the elbow – although it can be a little bit disconcerting for whoever you’re training with!

I’m going to try get a video up here so it’s easier to compare my progress a few months down the line.

Apart from that I went for a run this morning and, although I only lasted 6 rounds, my pace was quicker than last week. Next week’s target is 7 rounds.

Onwards and upwards this week then. Circuit training Tuesday and then back on the pads on Thursday

🙂

