Image

My print out of the e-book

Since I started boxing in January, I’ve met lots of good people (both online and off) who have gone out of their way to try help me and keep pushing me in the right direction.

Of all these, the best resource I’ve come across is the site expertboxing.com and its owner Johnny Nguyen.

After spending a few days getting through the quality free advice on the site, it’s really not a difficult decision to invest in the e-books and training videos.

($77 – which in the grand scheme of what you get out of it, really isn’t a lot of money.)

Content-wise, its ideal for absolute beginners like myself as Johnny does a really good job of explaining the funamental techniques of boxing.

The day-by-day workbook also gives you a solid framework to actually go away and practice the techniques explained.

It’s all digital, so need to count the days until it arrives in the post. Personally, I recommending printing off the books and binding them, just because I don’t like reading off computer screens.

It’s also really nice to have the written material supplemented with instructional videos, which makes everything a bit easier to understand.

Like with anything, you’re going to get out of these books and videos what you put into them and there’s no substitute for getting in the gym.

As Vince Lombardi once said though:

“Practice does not make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect.”

So its definitely worth taking a step back sometimes and really refining the way you practice. If you’re learning to box, there’s no better way to do this than with all of expertboxing.com’s content.

The only thing I’d like to see is having the videos broken down into sections, so I can have them on hand on my phone in the gym – apart from that, absolutely no complaints.

March update

I missed my first session so far this week thanks to my car breaking down. I made up for it by squeezing in an extra run, but I still felt a bit rusty on Thursday.

My current focus when I’m punching is pushing my weight downwards as opposed to shifting it forwards (a nice tip from the e-book!).

This is pretty difficult to master but definitely helps with staying balanced.

