I’ve known for a while now that if I wanted to take this thing seriously then I’d have to take a long, hard look at my diet.

This was a pretty difficult decision to make, given that  I’ve always had a penchant for cream, cheese and tiramasu.

The more I talk to people about this though, the more they’ve reinforced how important your diet is. Without it, you can render your training pretty much useless.

So I’ve kicked into touch:

  • Oven pizzas
  • Sweets and chocolate
  • Rich, creamy pastas
  • Low quality red meats
  • Bacon and sausage sandwiches (alas)
  • Big portions

I’ve replaced these with:

  • Porridge
  • Berries
  • Nuts
  • Chicken
  • More chicken
  • Fish
  • Wheat pasta and brown vice
  • Vegetables

I use to cover all my meals in mayonnaise. Unfortunately, this has had to go  as well, so I’m now lacing all my food in this stuff 🙂

What I will say though is, although I’ve only been at this for a couple of weeks now, I’ve feel a lot healthier because of it.

I used to think feeling bloated and tired after meals was a normal experience; now I realise it’s because of what I was eating.

I’ve also found that my concentration levels have  improved and I’m less tired, especially in that awful after lunch period.

Hopefully I’ll be able to report on a marked improvement in my gym performance over the next couple of weeks.

Chances are I’ll slip up on the food front but, I’ve made a positive start now and I’m determined to continue with it.

