I took part in the Leeds 10k early on Sunday morning, running with a couple of colleagues in aid of MacMillan Cancer Support.

(You can sponsor us here.)

I’ve been really gearing toward the distance through the month of June, making sure I ran 10k each Sunday.

On each of my June 10ks, I managed to card less than an hour, which I hoped stood me in good stead for the race.

My official time and position was:

The chip time and position is what really counts and I was pleased with my overall performance.

I got off to a flyer at the start of the race but ran out of steam on the last 2k.

When I signed up to race, I targeted any time under an hour. As my training progressed though, I started to get faster and maybe a bit overconfident.

I had harboured ambitions of running a sub-50.00 minute time, but it proved to be a bridge too far on the day.

Who knows, next time hopefully I’ll hit a time in the 40s. For now though, I’m going to get back in the boxing gym on Tuesday.

I’ll definitely keep up the 10k runs though; they’re good for stamina and the races are really nice occasions.

