Tomorrow is a pretty big milestone in terms of my training so far.

All being well I’ll be sparring for the first time at Tiger’s.

Initially, I’d set myself the goal of sparring within 12 months of starting, which would be January 2013.

If (and when) I step in the ring this month, I’ll be 3 months ahead of schedule, which is good.

I’ve been doing a little bit of extra work in preparation for the big day.

Last Thursday I went to train with my friend Shelli and her friend Nasser, who is an experienced boxer.

Both gave me some really good general and specific advice, which I’ll probably blog about in the coming months.

I also sought some advice from a friend and more senior boxer/blogger, Lisa Creech-Bledstow, who put together the tips she gave me in a blog post.

At the moment then I’m at mixture of nerves, fear and excitement.

In all honesty I just want to get it under my belt and stop making such a fuss about it.

Everything I’ve read and everyone I’ve spoken to has stressed how important sparring is in your development as a boxer.

I guess I’ll find out for myself tomorrow.

Image credit: Conductive

